The Guards Polo Club Polo Season

Guards Polo Club was founded on 25th January 1955 with HRH The Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh, as the Club’s first President. A role he held for 66 years until his death in April 2021.

The Club was originally named the Household Brigade Polo Club, only changing to its present form in 1969. Guards Polo Club became a fully civilian Club in 2000. Since inception the Club has grown considerably and it is now the largest polo club in Europe in terms of membership and number of grounds. A Board of Directors oversees the successful running and development of this Club.

This Club is set in the outstanding natural surroundings of Smith’s Lawn, thought to have been named after a gamekeeper at the time of the Restoration in the 17th century.

Nearby are the renowned Savill and Valley Gardens. Such a spectacular location, impressive fixtures list and the Club’s unrivalled, close relationship with the Royal Family ensures that Guards Polo Club is, without doubt, one of the most famous polo clubs in the world.

Smith’s Lawn is home to our elegant Clubhouse, featuring a restaurant and bar for members and guests, offering an unrivalled view over the Club’s Queen’s Ground. There are six further fields at this location. Further into Windsor Great Park, at Flemish Farm, Guards Polo Club has developed two additional polo grounds, incorporating a spectacular backdrop of Windsor Castle, and manages 120 stables and an all-weather exercise track at this same location.

The Club’s season starts in April and finishes in mid September, hosting more than 500 matches each year.

The premier tournaments include the Cartier Queen’s Cup (high-goal), Talacrest Prince of Wales’s Championship Cup (high-goal), Out-Sourcing Inc. Royal Windsor Cup (medium-goal), Archie David Cup (low-goal), Guards Ladies’ Charity Polo Tournament (high-goal) and the Indian Empire Shield (high-goal). Other key competitions include the La Martina Varsity Day (Oxford v Cambridge), the Duke of Cornwall Trophy, the Inter Regimental Final and the Duke of Wellington Trophy.